So Cal Prop Trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by ksmetana, Mar 25, 2011.

1. Hello, my name is Kurt Smetana, I have decided to start a journal on here.
    I am an equities prop trader in Los Angeles, CA. I trade in an office. I do not hold overnight positions.
    I am 26 years old, and I have my B.A. Anthropology from University of California, Irvine.
    I went live the last week of October 2010.

I will begin the journal on Monday, March 28.
    Unlike everyone else here, I have no problem posting my orders. In fact, I want to.
    The goal of my journal is to help me prevent over-trading.
    Knowing that my trades will be reviewed by others will put a little more pressure on my decision making. It will get me to think, "If I saw this on some other guy's journal I'd be laughing."

I do not stick with one particular strategy. I go wherever the action is.
    Earnings, News, Stocks moving on volume, etc. I'll play pullbacks, breakouts, etc etc. I do not limit what I trade. I am an opportunist. I rely heavily on the level 2.

Every day I will post my trades, a short commentary on the market and my trades, my day's P&L, and my month's P&L. Every month I will update my year's P&L. If I do not post on a particular day, it will mean I did not trade that day.

I should also note, I work 7 days a week. I don't get days off. I work a second job to support my trading. I'm not some rich kid playing around. I am building what I have from the ground up. 3 out of 5 trading days I work both jobs. My life is pure stress. It is absolute hell, but that is masculine and there will be no greater feeling in the end.