Snowboard

Discussion in 'Politics' started by uptik2000, Apr 10, 2006.

1. Sems like there are a few snowboarders on the site so I'll toss out a question.

I've been riding for 12 years. My last board purchase was a 1996 Burton Air 155 with Burton Freestyle bindings. I wear Airwalk soft boots.

I love the board. It's a great all-mountain set up. I ride mostly in the northeast. Gore Mtn, Hunter, Stowe and Mt Snow are the usual spots. Had a few trips out to Vail too.

I'm thinking about buying a new board and looking for a recommendation. I'm really just into cruising/freeriding. Not so much into riding parks or anything like that.

In the northeast we don't get much powder days. You have to deal with hardpack groomed trails and icy conditions.

So what I'm looking at is maybe a 2006 Burton Air or maybe a Burton Custom. I also need new bindings. I just about snapped all the straps and the old models are tough to find replacement straps(they have the slip in T backs, not the new bolt on).

I'm 5' 10'' 165lbs. I think the 155 is a good size but maybe thinking about going a bit smaller b/c when I get into tight areas, glades or tight black diamond runs she's a bit tough to turn. Would a smaller size be better or do the 155 newer models have bigger sidecuts to make up for that?

Toss out some ideas for me.

Thanks.

uptik2000

2. jem

jem

On the sidecuts make sure your toes and heels have clearance. Also I have found bindings to make a big difference in comfort and power. Maybe it is just that I got better and could tell the difference.

So to me you have to get boots and bindings that work well together and then pick your board.

3. YEah, I definately need new bindings. The straps are trashed. They usually get a bit loose after a few minutes. I love the Airwalk boots I have and will probably keep those unless they don't fit well with the new bindings I get.