Smart Money's Swing Trades Thru T.A.

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Smart Money, Jun 9, 2010.

1. Hey all,

I'm an Engineer in a Podunk town in the South. I'm a quant with a wry sense of humor. I think I made a career mistake by not going into business/finance as a career. I've followed markets since I was a little kid, starting with silver and gold prices which were posted next to the comics in the newspaper. I've always given financial advice to my friends. One day a "friend" challenged my advice based on my credentials. That stuck in my craw, and so I went back to school to get an MBA at a state college. I had hopes of going into finance, but when I graduated, I was offered jobs making 2/3 of my salary and couldn't follow my dream because by then I had a wife, a kid, a mortgage, etc.

So did I use my MBA? Sort of. I'm good at consulting and many of my customers are now banks. I can speak their language. My MBA also helps me in making my own financial decisions, including real estate investment, and teaching myself T.A. I'm now making a decent profit with T.A., but I still have a long slog ahead of me before I can quit my day job. Even if a guy can double his money every year, it can still take years to put together a large sum of money to support a family.

Why am I telling this(not so) sordid tale? Because I still dream of a career in finance. But like I say, I'm well paid where I'm at and starting over again in a new career isn't in the cards. So this journal is an effort to demonstrate what I can do. Hopefully demonstrate talent. Maybe somebody out there will see that I'm good at T.A. ...good enough to put on a payroll doing T.A. for them.

Lastly, yeah, I've set myself up by giving personal information and I know my life story is humorous to some. Thats OK. Laugh it up. But I do know that heavy hitters patrol this place and a guy should always try to improve his lot in life.