smart money and Gann

Discussion in 'Trading' started by ken.lindsay8, Jun 28, 2007.

1. Hi
    i'm new to trading but impressed by some Gannsters.

one thing i don't understand is that time cycle plays an important role in the Gann approach but what about smart money? if the smart money decides to distribute, it would be impossible for a stock to keep going up.

so my question is: is there any subtle connections between Gann's time cycle and the smart money activity? i just don't think one can tell in advance how the smart money will act in a future time frame...but some analysis from the perspective of Gann are very accurate and this completely confuses me...

Could anyone shed some lights please?
    thanks a lot

Ken

2. Either the Smart Money is following Gann -- or, more likely, the dumb money follows typical human behavior - -thereby being consistent with Gann Cycles -- and the smart money just recognizes where the risks and opportunities are.

3. Well, at least you've not been sucked into the evangelical heart of this nonsense...you temper your apparent belief with caution, an optimistic sign.

Patterns in charts, Gann or whatever are spurious anomolies in the multivariatem, multifractal world of the market. Your post hints that you may be beginning to see issues with whatever you've been "taught". If you take time to consider the implications of my first sentence then you'll realise that "really smart money" doesn't listen to anything Mr Gann has to say.

4. Yes. ignore the urge to follow people who believe in things. Gann, Elliott Wave, Astrology, and most of technical analysis. It doesn't work, it does not hold up under intense statistical studies, but the believers will howl and whine like mad.

Try and find longterm successful advisories based on Gann that have been independently monitored. Ignore the people here who claim it works for famous person X (who they don't know, personally). Most here claiming to trade with it successfully don't, most likely.