Smart college grad wants to be a career trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tomski, Jul 31, 2007.

1. tomski

tomski

Hello All,

I have a bit of a dilemma and I am hoping some of you might offer me some advice. I am a recent college grad (as in a couple months ago) of a tier 2 business school. I majored in Finance + Accounting (though I don't like accounting much) and minored in stat. I also have a strong computing background (including programming experience).

I've always wanted to be a trader. I've got a collection of 20 technical analysis books and maybe 10 other trading books and of course all my finance books. I'm also studying for CFA Level 1.

Anyway, I graduated and moved to NYC to work as an analyst at a very large financial institution "on the block" -- aka in midtown. It pays decently and the benefits are nice but I hate the work. The whole reason I picked up finance as my major in the first place was a total fascination in trading and the markets . I've always wanted to be a trader but often listen to other people tell me to stick w/ the safe analyst roles.

Well I've had enough. I want to pursue my dream and become a trader. I am esp interested in derivatives but don't mind equity. Both would be good. I consider myself pretty sharp and a fast learner. I don't care about money that much though I need to figure out a way to sleep and eat and go out from time to time. I don't have too much money now, enough to go w/o income for a few months but not enough to trade.

I guess my question is: what advice would you offer me about becoming a “career” trader?

2. stare at charts until you find an edge.

3. JA_LDP

JA_LDP