Smacking the ER2

Discussion in 'Journals' started by jessop, Sep 6, 2005.

1. jessop

jessop

Hi,

This is the kick off entry for my new journal and I’ll explain why I’m doing it later:

Background

Intraday ER2 Futures Trader – ER2 clearly the best ‘bang per buck’ contract around – certainly for my edge
    I spent 9 months developing a trading plan & charting techniques and have been live since 1/5/05
    Self taught (read all TA & psychological books etc)
    Don’t use any indicators – just price, volume, and 3 ‘secret weapon’ data feeds
    I have an eight page trading plan with supporting risk/reward analysis spreadsheet
    I do end of day detailed trading logs & an end of week summary analysis weeks trading
    I have the luxury of working part-time in the mornings (in the UK) and have my afternoons free for trading the US market 5 days a week
    I have an understanding wife who trusts me to do what is in our collective best interest
    I have a reasonable account size – but I have limited myself to 1 contract until I can ‘consistently’ hit the daily targets in the trading plan
    I use Esignal (various 1 & 2min charts), IB & Ninja – have a backup broadband service and a full office setup
    I am a very positive person and my main driver behind trading is financial independence.
    Mark Douglas’s ‘Trading in the Zone’ is my main emotional trading reference.
    I’m a typical Jung type INTJ personality…if I didn’t feel I could make a good living trading I wouldn’t be here today.

Anyway….to cut to the chase ….the reason for the Journal

I don’t normally go for chatrooms or forum posting…..however:

1) I have a trading plan and charting techniques that give me a great edge…..but I am the weakest link …….and I need to kick my a**e into gear….my current trading problems are the usual ‘fear’ based hesitation & cutting profits short etc