Slippage and Size

Discussion in 'Forex' started by csaunders, Sep 9, 2003.

1. Hi All,

New to this forum and hoping to share info and gain some insight...

I've been using GFT for trading for the past 2 years - and pretty good service received have to add. The platform is quick although requotes do occur - especially when trying to enter in volatile times. Although this has been improving...

I need a platform where volumes over $1M are guarenteed to execute at the price (using stops). I've experienced some slippage - especially a while back when the Canadian MPC cut interest rates. GFT guarentees a stop to execute up to a $1M and not further. Problem is I've got to a point where I'd like to start trading larger volumes (large than $1M) although no slippage (preferably guarenteed execution) is important to me.

Any suggestions from you all out there based on experience...

Happy Trading,
    Cliff

2. Hi,

FXCM.com told me that they guarantee stop prices regardless of size. (I have no account with them.)

Regards,

Forex Trader

3. rezo_s

rezo_s

Refco(fxcm) (same platform) - no slippage, no requoting. I'm not trading +1mio size, as am still managing less than 250k, but its "what you click is what you get. I entered USDCHF exactly at that seloff on friday at 1.3875 - and the order was executed at exact price, although it hang in "orders" window for about 10 minutes afterwards, but had an "executed" tag on it, and it moved to "open positions" eventually. I am not an intraday trader, dont change my decidions after I enter, and am still holding that trade, so this is not such a big problem for me.

4. rezo_s

rezo_s

Nope, sorry I just checked - same here (refco) - guaranteed stop loss and execution only on under 1 mio...

5. "At GAIN, you will never receive a fill at any price other than the quoted bid or offer. More importantly, we stand behind this guarantee for ALL market orders, whether you're trading $100,000 or $10,000,000!"