SIZE

Discussion in 'Trading' started by tradersaavy, Sep 11, 2003.

1. I hear a lot of commotion regarding size.

Things like: "when I do size, the problems really start"
    or,
    "size will kill ya"
    or,
    " I was doing great till I started trading with size"

Surprisingly, these comments come from some profitable traders.

If you have a profitable method, why would the method change if you have an extra contract or two, or three, or whatever.

The method is the same, the charts are the same, is the trader the same ?

2. Many times it has been said that if you buy a system, or develop one, wait until it hits a losing streak before you start using it. This certainly is an effort to recognize that methods cycle between winning and losing.

I would bet that traders bump their size when they are going thru a winning streak, which just so happens to precede that next losing cycle. Now the bigger losses are being realized and the bigger profits have not yet. Then the trader cuts back on the size, realizes some small profits again, regains confidence, and bumps the size again..... just in time for the next losing streak to hit.

Finally he discards the method because "it loses money", and comes to Elite Trader looking for another holy grail.! :)

3. damir00

damir00 Guest

you have to size for the inevitable bad streaks, otherwise you will go broke even if you follow the plan to the letter.

4. i truly doubt that, otherwise they wouldn't be saying that.

5. Kermit

Kermit

Tradersaavy: