Singapore Traders

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by Copernicus, Nov 9, 2008.

1. there have been numerous threads before but people come and go.

Im moving from HK to Spore to work for an arbitrage house, would be nice to meet some fellow traders.

2. ATLien

ATLien

Will be in SG soon :)

3. What is the job market like in Singapore? Is it being hit hard?

4. I would say HK and Singapore is actually tougher than NYC at the moment. Nobody is hiring and there is talent looking to move to Asia.

5. Hi Copernicus, I'm interested in your thoughts

I'm an NYC trader and I can tell you that conditions are pretty grim here so you must be seeing a really bleak landscape in HK and Singapore. Is that true?

Are you happy to be moving to Singapore? I read that Jim Rogers would have preferred for business reasons to be in HK but for quality of life reasons moved to Singapore instead.

How hard do you think it would be for a US family to move there (one small child) and start a trading business?

Hope this is not prying but is the company in Singapore a hedge fund? A private partnership or prop firm?

Thx

6. I moved to Sing in early '98 just after the Asian currency debacle. Had several interviews with major banks who said they would hire me in a heartbeat if they could, but they were in panicked retrenchment. About 3 months after I left in mid 98 they started hiring like mad, especially expats that had any skills trading derivatives (didn't seem too impressed by equity traders as they had been doing this for quite some time).

My point. If you are an experienced trader heading to Sing, just hang for a bit if they are not hiring. They will come out of this before anyone in the region, and are usually aggressive in hiring when they do.

Besides, you have Bintan a ferry ride away, great golf and nightlife in KL, and Thai beaches close by as well. Sing rocks for an expat! Especially a single one.

Jay