Simplicity Rules!!

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by wally_, Dec 9, 2002.

1. Today the world simplest mechanical trading ES system scored 19 pts with one trade only!

I know that I sound bombastic, but on the other hand the system is so simple that I am most likely correct. The system boils down to two rules, one of them being auxiliary and being applied very infrequently (this rule prevents trading tomorrow, for instance). The main rule is just a simple application of one basic arithmetical operation.

I am a theoretical physicist by training. The goal of theoretical physics has always been to create one unified theory that could explain all known physical phenomena. Such a theory has not been created yet, but it is believed that the string theory is the best candidate for it. The string theory is simple in principle (that's what simplicity is all about, about simple underlying principles), but its math is incredibly complex.

My system is very simple in principle and its math is amusingly simple. It is very easy to handle, particularly timewise. You will not get rich overnight using it, but you will not spend a lot of your time with it either.

The system would make you about $13,000 per contract this year trading only several times a month, so if you want to get mega-rich this is probably not for you, but if you want to strike some balance between trading and still having life, this might be a good system for you. You would have needed about $5,000 per contract to safely withstand the worst drawndown this year which was less than $2,000, but for safety reasons $5,000 is what you should have to be able to trade this system without stress.