simple system

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by tentenequals20, Jan 9, 2007.

1. I tested a simple system. if I buy on MA crossover up and sell on MA down with stoploss, system seems to make resonable $ on stocks that are largely uptrending.

thoughts? am i thinking too simple?
    thanks

2. dozu888

dozu888

this system works great... I have been using the MA cross over for the last 3 years and have made a fortune.

it's so easy.

3. romik

romik

I use 200ma Xover on a 10 min S&P500, works well.

4. Dazuni

Dazuni

hi there,

I am new to this site and all these trading stuff. can you explain what you mean by 200ma xover on 10 min s&P500????!??

is ma MasterCard?

do you mean buying 200 MasterCard share for 10 minute?
    S&P500 is top 500 company for standard and poor....

I am just confused.

thanks

5. romik

romik

:)

200 moving average on 10 min chart of S&P500 e-mini (futures contract)

6. wynotb1

wynotb1

On average how many trades a day is that?

7. ryank

ryank

I just took a quick look at this, looks nice, simple and profitable if you don't get too greedy :D. Do you hold these overnight or just day trade this way?

8. I recall testing moving average crossover systems and finding them sometimes profitable. (I do not find any system that is always profitable and never loses.) The system shows different results with different securities. You might not need a stop loss since the moving average crossover generates an exit signal if the price decreases. You might want to include slippage in your calculations.