Simple strategy can make profit ?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by thomsonfx, Jun 12, 2006.

1. Hello to all fellows. I am a newbie in automated trading and it's my first thread here. I am from Hong Kong. Just curious.. any Hong Kongers here ? I found that most automated trading related books were lent from libraries but nobody discuss it in Hong Kong forums. :confused:

I have been doing discretionary part-time FX/futures trading for nearly 1 year but I found that I am really tired of it since I have to do a lot of manual scanning of opportunties and wait for position opening and closing. In this mode, it really waste lots of chances esp for Gold futures, where many important TA points reached at electronic trading session... I am probably sleeping as it is 2am to 8am on my side... However, I dare not to just place a limit order since there are various graphical interpretions.

When I discover this forum, I am really surprised as I noticed that there are tons of people already implemented an automated solution that I thought it ought to be very rare. However, I do believe that the automated trading size must not be small. The evidence is that in my discretionary exp, I notice, for exp, all currency pairs move in nearly perfectly synchronized mode, like GBP, EUR increase the same pips over USD .. generating the same graph in the short run esp right after the data release time. It seems most investment banks trade FX in an automated manner.

Sorry to say so much irrelevent stuff with respect to the topic. Here comes my idea:

In my concept for having an automated solution, there are basically these steps:
    1. find a strategy
    2. implement the strategy
    3. back-test the strategy
    4. forward-test the strategy with the demo account
    5. go live !