Simple starter Python programming or something off the shelf?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by yosuji198, Feb 24, 2020.

1. yosuji198

yosuji198

Hi Community,

I am an expert options trader with only basic programming experience (in VBA). I want to build simple code for IB TWS where I can program in the next trade to execute. I am not looking for a whole decision tree that's automated, I myself can type in the code for what I want the next trade to look like. As I get more comfortable I could then further engineer it.

I'm hoping for code that can:
    1. When X stock hits $X price, enter a combination options order...
    2. Combination order is buy/sell X, Y, Z combination of strike prices...
    3. The limit price of this combination order is -> start at ask and move quickly down for sell order or start at bid and move swiftly up for buy orders, until order filled or cancelled
    4. Log that order was filled

I don't know anything about libraries or other things people are talking about on here but I can learn if need be. I would like to ask community:
    • Is Python the easiest language to build this program in?
    • Is there any publicly available free code that can do numbers 1 to 4 above - code that I can just play with?
    • Is there anything else I should know?
    Thanks!

2. 2rosy

2rosy

You can do this in any language. Maybe vba. However, if someone wrote exactly what you wanted it could easily go haywire until you're blown out

3. Apbideas

Apbideas

Have you considered a Robotic Process Automation (RPA) application?

4. gaussian

gaussian

Python is relatively simple to learn to a level of competency that will allow you to be productive. Easiest? Perhaps. That's really subjective.

Python has plenty of backtest/execution libraries that will handle this for you. Zipline is one of the more popular ones. It seems like everyone writes a backtest library. It's the hello world of "data science".