Simple Options Question

Discussion in 'Options' started by urrterrible, Jan 26, 2009.

1. Fellas,

I am an options noob so I am charting AAPL options to learn how price moves.

At end of day on Jan 21st AAPL was at 82.83.

Feb 80 Calls were at 7.45
    Mar 80 Calls were at 9.35

Next day AAPL goes to 88.36 or 6.68% increase.

Feb 80 Calls were at 10.50
    Mar 80 Calls were at 13.10

The stock went up 6.68% and the calls went up ~40%. Why the huge difference?

Then Friday the stock doesn't move and both calls lose 4% and 9% respectively(does the Feb call now lose less because it is ITM and earlier to expire?)

Today Stock moves up 1.4% and calls move up 8.1% and 8.8%. I kinda understand this move, but not totally why it is so much more than 1.4%.

Thanks for any help.

2. The first part is delta, if the stock doesn't move and the option is cheaper then it should be theta. You should card up the greeks, delta, theta, etc.

3. urrterrible,

I am going to assume your numbers are right first of all (They look reasonable). If AAPL moved up 6.68% and the calls jumped 40%, that is fairly normal - that is the leverage that calls offer. Also, when a stock doesn't move, calls are likely to drop somewhat as time value decays.

To determine exactly how much an option should move based on a given stock move, you need to learn about the Delta. Delta is usually about .5 for a near-the money option (however, delta changes as stock price changes). Delta says how much the option will go up if the stock goes up $1.

So, if a stock is at $80 and an 80 strike call is $4 and the delta is .5, and the stock then went up $4, the option would be expected to go up $2, which would then be up to $6 or a 50% gain even though the stock only went up 5%.

Delta is usually close to 1 for Deep in the money calls and close to 0 for far out of the money calls. Delta is negative for puts.