Simple live feed calculations

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Carbonator, Jan 14, 2009.

1. Hi guys,

Thanks for a great resource. I've been a lurker for some time, but finally decided to sign up.

I am fairly new to investing and trading, and still am in the process of reading bucket-loads of books just to get a hold of the basic ideas.

Anyhow, since I do have some slight experience in C++, I do have some questions regarding the use of my own programming and a broker application.

How limited are my abilities to 'manipulate' the data inputs and outputs I get from the application? Can I, for example, take the real-time feed and process it in an external C++ application? (that is, of course, without me having to enter values manually)
    Can I automate a trade from my external C++ application, or would that require the application to have such feature built into it?

What are some general limitations? Are there, virtually, any?

I did a search, and some thread (can't find it; did the search earlier) gave me kind-of a heads-up that it is possible; if anybody could confirm, I'd be grateful.

(using the thinkorswim app. I know it's Java, so please also comment on this if this would create any compatibility issues)

Yours truly,

2. Corey

Corey

Typically, you would use a broker with an API that you can use within your C++ application.

You might be able to use hooking libraries to connect your C++ application to thinkorswim...but that is pretty dirty and unnecessary...

3. Hi Carbonator,

I use IB for getting Quotes (they have only a quote snapshot and not a real-time feed!) and managing orders. You can use any programming language that can handle sockets. Here is the link to their API-page: http://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/p.php?f=programInterface&ib_entity=llc

There may me a lot more broker offering an API, but that is the one I use.

Daniel

4. Euler

Euler