Silly question

Discussion in 'Options' started by 101option, Feb 16, 2011.

1. 101option

101option

Hi all,
    let say I buy a call of BP for March 19,
    Strike 48 at .90/share. The price now is 47.30.
    OK, between now and Mar 19, it must go at least above 49/share before I can profit (excluding fee).
    My questions are, please explain:
    1. What happens if I let the contract expires and the price is 50.90?
    2. Who would buy from me at higher price. Everyone loves to buy low, right?
    Thanks for your time.

2. I am a pretty big noob when it comes to options but I really want to learn about them. Here's my attempt at answering thie silly question. Please correct me if I am wrong.

1. At expiry since the stock price is now 50.90 the call premium will be at 50.90-48 = 2.9. so this will be your gross profit. Since you orignally paid 0.9 for the call your net profit is 2. So your account will be credited with this profit. (all this assuming no commisisons/fee's)

2. Well you bought at 0.9 becasue you thought it was attractive, if it's liquid enough somebody will think it's attractive at X premium so it will sell. If theres little volume then you might be screwed.

3. MTE

MTE

First of all, the stock only has to be above 48.90 at expiration for you to profit. Prior to expiration you can make money earlier, depending on where the stock is, how much time is left and what happens to volatility.

1. If you hold the contract into expiration with the stock at 50.90 then your call would be automatically exercised and you would end up with a long stock position, acquired at the strike price.
    2. You are assuming that everyone thinks the same thing and is in the same position as you are, which is incorrect. There are thousands of traders, who have different opinions so the fact that you bought the call @ .90 doesn't mean anything to anyone else out there.