Silly emini question

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by jugiproject, Jan 9, 2007.

1. I am new to the futures game and i have a question, it may be a dumb one but i would apprecaite a response.

From my understand a futures contract, say for wheat, gives the holder the obligation to buy an certian amount on wheat on the settlement date... so say when the settlement date arrives and for whatever reason i dont offset my position by going long or buying short then i will be required to buy ex. $50,000 of wheat?

Also is it the same thing with Emini's? what am i buying for emini if i dont offset by position by the settlement date.

Has anyone expeirienced this before? holding till the settlement and going through with the contract?

Thanks in advance

2. Tums

Tums

time to do some home work.

http://www.cme.com/

lesson #1.

Don't trust anyone on a forum for information you can easily dig up yourself.

just go read the contract specifications.

some contracts are cash settled.
    i.e. if you have a profit, the clearing house will pay your broker, and your broker will deposit the money in your account. Otherwise your broker will take money out of your account to give to the clearing house.

3. Like Tums said, some spend time at www.cme.com and www.cbot.com

Both sites will answer most questions about the structure of their products.

4. Thanks guys, will do some more reading.

5. In regards to the The YM mini contracts, if you hold until expiration, the contracts are settled with a "special quotation price" that is similar to how index options are settled.