Should I switch?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by cashmoney69, Jul 29, 2006.

1. I dont post in on this part of the forum very much, but some of you may know me already and my thread "Is it because I dont care" http://elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=73677 . I've been trading stocks for 7 months now and its still my passion, however I've read the advantages of FX over stocks and it makes me wonder. As a beginning trader, should I switch?

no MM's
    no commissions
    open 24/7 :)
    easier to trade (currency pairs) not thousands of different stocks.
    etc etc..

I was thinking about opening an account with Oanda. I got 5k plus to work with.

2. bl33p

bl33p

Try a game account at Oanda for free. You're just in time for next week's session.

3. cscott

cscott

I opened a forex account with Oanda long before I had an IB account, and I maintain an account at both places. Yet I prefer to trade forex with IB because of tighter spreads, better security of funds, and I trust their quotes better. I could be wrong, but I feel that I get more slippage at Oanda. Nonetheless, Oanda is good, and Oanda would be my 2nd choice for trading forex. I like Oanda's simple platform. IB could take some ideas from their platform. Oanda's platform and connection is also a little more reliable and much user-friendlier than IB's.

4. I dont mean for this to be a personal question, but after you become consistently profitable, but still new to FX, what would be a reasonable weekly income compared to what traders make in stocks?.

5. I highly recommend not resorting to trading currencies just because of the smaller lot size -- especially at a retail fx shop. FX retail has basically become the graveyard of daytraders thanks to pdt for this reason. If you can't make money in stocks, you will have twice as hard a time in fx, trust me.