Should I sue over this?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by lasner, Jul 11, 2007.

1. lasner

lasner

Hey I want to get your guys opinion on this. I used to work in a bank as a broker (series 7,63) I had a previous business working as a commodity trading advisor. I had an LLC

I disclosed on my resume that I worked as a CTA and that I had websites for my business. One of my websites sold a course and the other one gave trade recommendations with buy sell signals.

I kept the sites up for interviewing purposes to show prospective employers how my business worked. I told the interviewer for the bank that I worked at about my websites and offered to show him...he said he didn't want to see them.

I did not have a side business while I worked at the bank and accepted no sales on the course. One of the compliance officers saw the sites through a google search and fired me.

This happened about two weeks ago. I'm waiting to get my U5 to see what appears on it. I'm pretty sure it is going to say involuntary termination and probably conflict of interest. This ruins my financial career. I probably won't get hired with another brokerage house or bank.

I can prove I didn't have a side business...I filed no tax return on any side business.

I'm thinking about suing them over wrongful termination and for slandering my name. They should have laid me off and not terminated me.

Let me know what you guys think

2. This is a useless non legal opinion but to the lay person (me) you perfectly described a winning lawsuit if you can actually prove you didn't sell anything. Did the websites provide contact info for yourself, and did they disclose you were not serious in actually selling courses?

3. if you need the steady paycheck, even filing a lawsuit and recovering damages wont be able to dig you out, unless you go off the map.

but if you have confidence in your abilities, setup your own business.

sorry about your situation.

chris

4. balda

balda