Should I stay or go?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by maptrader, Sep 8, 2003.

1. Could some experienced traders give me some advice? I am trying to decide wether to continue trading or throw in the towel. I've been trading for 3 years both as a market maker in an option pit and as a scalper in a proprietary futures trading firm. I recently left the futures trading job because I wasn't able to make the big money I envisioned making when I got into the business. I have not made enough money to back myself, or I would. But I'm not sure I want to give up yet. I love trading and look forward to it everyday.

How much is enough before you decide you just aren't cut out for trading?

When does persistence become stupidity?

2. can you support yourself and do you see a future in trading?? you have to ask where you want to be in 5, 10 years.

3. Swish

Swish

Stick with it as long as you can if you love it.

and you can support yourself

and you are not putting so much of your net worth at risk that you're not going to be able to recover if you do eventually quit

What about working part time to support yourself........

On the other hand, if your trading experience is typically frustrating and you are not making progress as trader - I think continuing to bang your head against a wall is fruitless and wisdom dictates that you consider making a move.....

4. okwon

okwon

Just curious. Why'd you leave options market making?

5. If you have to ask this question on a public forum then by all means - you should go.

6. Where else can you go if you quit trading? Do you have another full time job elsewhere.