Should I return the Win 7 OEM I bought online?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by J.P., Aug 18, 2012.

1. J.P.

J.P.

Just bought 64-bit Windows 7 OEM online. The disk doesn't look the way I thought it would. This wasn't mentioned anywhere when I bought it but I can see printed on the disk through the clear window on the sealed envelope that it is Dell-branded. It also states: "For Distribution Only With a New Dell PC."

I'm new at this and I am trying to put together my first build. Is it normal for Windows OEM software to come with Dell's or some other company's branding? Is this legal? Should I return this? If I use this in my new build will it work? If it does work, what, if any, differences will there be; for example, I assume I'll get a Dell splash screen, but what else? And would there be any way of permanently removing all branding?

I'd like to get these questions answered before I break the sealed envelope it came in.

Thank you,
    JP

2. 1245

What did you pay for it and where did you purchase it? You can get it here for $139.99 from a good online retailer.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116992

3. I believe it will only work with a Dell. This is site is really good to ask tech questions http://www.techguy.org/

Interestingly enough if you buy a computer with Windows 7 on and all the associated bloatware and you want a clean install without bloatware by going to this website clink on link download an Win 7 ISO and then just input the serial number for Windows 7 that already came with you puter and no more bloatware. http://arstechnica.com/features/201...-a-guide-to-reinstalling-windows-on-a-new-pc/

4. It will work with any computer according to many articles but I myself would return it if you can because Microsoft obviously views it as improper according to the plain wording on the packaging and you did not intend that when you made the purchase.