Should I quit my job and trade for a living?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by BillySimas, Mar 2, 2010.

1. A quick background....I'm 30 years old, I have been trading off and on for about 8 years, 2 of them with a prop futures firm. I scalped there and did it miserably, that style isn't suited to me at all. I'm a poker player so probabilities play an integral part in my trading decisions now. I have found some edges backtesting some of my own ideas and I am now running a semi-automated strategy right now in a simulator and it has been doing well. There are lots of filters I need in my automated strategies to filter out bad signals but I don't have enough programming experience to do that so it's more of a gray box than a black box. Anyway........

I only have 10k in savings. I have no debt, I'm not married and I live with my mom so my expenses are very low. I have no trading profitability yet to speak of but I feel confident I will eventually get there. I work at a brokerage firm right now and I make a little over 50k a year. Should I quit to trade for a living? I know of a prop firm that can leverage $5,000 or whatever I'm able to deposit. I considered doing this before but thought better of it because I didn't have enough savings and I had debt. 10k is peanuts but since I don't have any expenses I'm wondering what savings amount I should aim for. After all, I'm really not willing to lose more than $5,000 anyway. I'd start trading very small size until I show profitability.

What does everyone think? Comments, suggestions are much appreciated.

2. Lethn

Lethn

It's a very good idea that you're thinking about using small size first as that's what I'm doing while I'm building up my capital. In a situation like that however I don't think you should quit your job, I recommend using the money you earn to put capital into the trading if things go wrong and when you are very rarely making a mistake that's when you can consider dropping the job.