Should I day-trade full-time???

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Dtrader2223, Dec 26, 2006.

1. I currently work full-time as a mid-level manager and I am essentially doing daytrading all day long. I trade on the Canadian markets and do about 30-40 trades per day and I am doing quite well ($250,000+ per year on trades alone). Financially I could easily quit my job and trade full-time but I am concerned that I may regret the decision. I fear that I may feel very isolated and couped up if I trade from home all day long.

As a positive if I trade full-time I will be able to spend more time with my 2 kids (aged 6 and 8), have less stress and have more freedom to travel whenever I want. I would also basically be my own boss and not have to worry about reporting to anyone.

Does anyone have any similar experiences that worked out well? Any experiences not work out well? If I do quit and decide I want to go back to working for whatever reason I doubt I will be able to do what I am doing now (trading all day) as I do have a pretty unique setup going now at work which allows me to do all of this trading.

Any and all feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

2. Brian, continue what you are doing for a couple more years and bank roll everything you can. Your kids won't get any younger but playing the way you are, you may eventually get caught and be forced to make the decision then. If you are doing that kind of return, you should be able to sit back soon enough.

Good hunting...

3. If you are doing 40 trades a day, you are ALREADY daytrading full-time :D

4. God bless your employer.. do they have any job openings??

5. Chances are you are stuck on a legacy/grave yard IT project with lots of free screen time.
    Therefore ride it out, at some point the easy life will end, then you wont be able to do 40 trades a day and you will be forced to go full time.

6. igor043

igor043