Should a novice play the ES or NQ?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Lois Price, Nov 8, 2002.

1. Hi, I'm relatively new to futures and have been playing the NQ...I will be watching the ES on my own but I was looking to get any opinions on the differences in behaviour of the two if there is any.
    For example , would anyone say that the ES is less random, less whipsaws , overall smoother movements that might benefit someone looking for that?

thanks for any input,

LP

2. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

Yes, ES is quieter. But lately not by much. I prefer it personally. It has 500 instead of 100 stocks which makes the movement slower.

3. tntneo

tntneo Moderator

are you really a novice or not ?
    if you are I think a novice should not trade these instruments unless they have plenty of cash (to allow time to learn).

I think the correlation between NQ and ES is pretty strong and there is no real margin advantage (point value is proportional to each instrument's volatility).
    imo you see a difference mostly in fast markets. NQ is more dangerous. Otherwise it is about the same when taking all in consideration.
    However, each trader will have a different feeling in front of ES and NQ. that's a funny thing, but it's true. while, like I said, I don't think there is a real difference between the two.
    But the different you 'feel' can make you or break you, so it's important.

4. tntneo,