Shorting through ECN's ?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by jimmyz, Jan 14, 2004.

1. jimmyz

jimmyz

Is anyone getting better fills in shorting NYSE stocks on ECN?
    i.e. No uptick rule on the ARCA exchange.

I am interested in anyone experiences in this era without bullets.

Regards

2. alanm

alanm

Quote from jimmyz:
    ...No uptick rule on the ARCA exchange.

Why do people keep saying this? Or is there some way to enter an order into ARCA that isn't subject to the tick test, that I don't know about?

3. jimmyz

jimmyz

That is my question?
    I saw the same thing on the post but never had gotten a fill, so I wondered if the tick test was the same.

I am a solitary trader so I have no one else to bounce this info off of.

4. Check this link where you can find the regulation about the short on ARCA:

http://www.terranovaonline.com/TNO_P&S/Rules.asp

In summary:

Nasdaq
    -Short Sales Short sales are not subject to the bid test when order is matched on ArcaEx Book.
    -Trades routed to other markets will abide by other market’s short sale rules.
    -Limit Orders will be matched down to the limit price which can potentially be outside the National Best Bid if routing to an away market would not satisfy that market’s short sale rule.
    -In a down bid market when the NBB is from an away market with a bid test, Market Orders will be posted to the ArcaEx Book at the NBB until they are eligible to trade at the NBB or better.

Listed
    -Short Sales For listed stocks, on a down tick from the last sale, a short sell is offered at $0.01 above the last sale.
    -On an up tick, normal trading occurs.

5. SEC wants to change the regulations so that ALL exchanges are subject to the short sale rules.

6. burnin

burnin

whats the deal with the 300 stocks that are supposed to be losing the bid test?

7. qazmax

qazmax

I have astonding good luck shorting listed stocks on ISLD... I know what you are thinking... I would not have thought so either.