Shorting a downtick

Discussion in 'Trading' started by skydiver, Jul 18, 2001.

1. skydiver

skydiver

Hello everyone,

I'm new to trading and this board, but I have an important question. I have my account with IB and I was wondering if I'm doing something wrong. (Sorry if this is a dumb question).

I know you're not supposed to short a stock on a downtick but I think I may have done it in the past. Is this even possible? I have my TWS screen set up with Island and Best ECN only. Those are the only two ways I ever execute. Sometimes the bid and ask prices are red, sometimes green, sometimes one is red and one is green. I'm assuming red means downtick and green is uptick? No matter what color they are, I've never NOT been able to short a stock. It's almost instantaneous. When I was with Datek it seemed like I could never short a stock. It would always say "can't short on a downtick".

So how does this work with direct access? Am I responsible to not short until it's green or does IB have something built in that won't allow it anyway? Maybe I'm not doing anything wrong at all. I've wondered if it's different with ECN's because of the instant order matching and that it doesn't matter anyway. Even if I am doing it wrong....then what? Am I in trouble? Am I going to jail? Lol.

Thanks for your replies.

2. skydiver =)

i dont use IB but all direct access firms have the short sale rule (uptick restriction) implemented in their software to prevent shorting on the bid on a downtick.. keep in mind that you can short on a downtick as long as you offer your short at least 1 cent above the bid.. and yes, the uptick rule applies to orders routed to ecns too..

good trading

-qwik

3. def

def Sponsor

If you try to short on a downtick, IB will raise your price 1 penny above the prevailing bid. Check your execution prices, you probably are getting a slightly better fill.

4. ktm

ktm

Skydiver,