Short term Straddle

Discussion in 'Options' started by metotron, May 16, 2018.

1. metotron

metotron

Hi all!
    I'm almost '0' in options trading, so need some advice from our community.
    I have a strategy that works only "long" and has around 67% profitable deals. Average profit 1.6%, average length - 3 days. Enter is on opening (first 5-15 min) and close around 3:45pm
    There is around 50% chance that first day will be down day. So I can buy not on open of the first day but on close (if it is red) and get almost the same result. The same because if the price goes up from opening it has higher profit.

So I have an idea that 50% of the red day should be used for profit also and maybe the better idea here is to buy Straddle on opening and close put leg at the end of the first day (and maybe add more to call or just keep profit). Or buy put on open and underline stock (strange idea but who knows)

But as I mentioned earlier, I have no experience in the options and I would like to ask:
    1. which risks should I expect
    2. which parameters should I use (Strike price, delta etc)
    3. maybe there are some "useful" resources where I can find some helpful info
    4. or maybe it is a stupid idea?

Thanks!

• Post an example with real quotes.
    • Straddles are too expensive - you most likely will have to go with calls or puts.

2. metotron

metotron

1. you mean real entry and exit prices for some stock? if yes, I can do it today later (i'm out of home now)
    2. could you clarify here a little. Do you mean create the straddle buying both legs separately or going only with calls or only with puts?

• Yes ..... it helps when real quotes are used, instead of a hypothetical situation with XYZ.

• No straddle.
    • Just buy a call or put - not both.

3. metotron

metotron

1. ok
    2. but the idea was to catch the move in both directions. so does it means that stocks + buy puts is the better idea?

4. spindr0

spindr0