Short pain...

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Mvic, Nov 20, 2006.

1. Mvic

Mvic

I get the sense that many who are calling for new records everyday are being sarcastic and are actually short or want to be short. Guys, this is a complete newbie mistake and believe me I have made it myself in the past but you have to get over it. It is true that one day the market will turn but that day could be 1 month, 1 year, 1 decade away for all you know, and chances are that when it turns you will be shaken out before any big drop (assuming that that low probability event even happens, it is far more likely to chop down).

Trade what you see, not what you think you should see is a basic trader's mantra. Right now we are in a strong bull market and buying the dips works very well, so thats what you do until it doesn't work so well. Eventually when it stops working you may have a few losing days, or even a week (with proper money management it shouldn't be that bad at all), but that is the price you pay for being able to take consistent money out of the market for months, maybe longer who knows. If you are worried about a outlier event and the market crashing then just buy some very cheap (low vix? what that means to me is that protection is cheap not that market is about to crash) OTM puts, sell a few ATM puts to cover them, and maybe don't hold overnight.