shooting the moon

Discussion in 'Journals' started by billyjoerob, Oct 13, 2012.

1. For the amusement and entertainment of the Elite Traders, a journal to record some of my set ups. I'm a stock trader, generally take large positions, and trade infrequently. I generally go for high-probability trades with large position sizes (as a % of my account), usually lasting for days or a few weeks. Low churn and high conviction trades result in the best returns, but that will be for the market to judge.

2. newwurldmn

newwurldmn

subscribed. looking forward to your posts.

3. First set up is Blyth (BTH) which is following the three and one pattern, as seen in GRPN and JEF.

Compare the charts.

BTH

http://stockcharts.com/h-sc/ui?s=BTH&p=W&yr=0&mn=6&dy=0&id=p15842670716

Compare GRPN in August 2012

http://stockcharts.com/h-sc/ui?s=GRPN&p=W&yr=0&mn=6&dy=0&id=p09132370327

Compare JEF in November 2011

http://stockcharts.com/h-sc/ui?s=JEF&p=W&yr=2&mn=0&dy=0&id=p34611933336

Three high volume weekly declines, followed by Monday open at new low and weekly close above Monday open.

4. This trade hasn't worked as planned . . . so far. Avg price is about $26, price today is $24. I would normally sell out of a chart this ugly once I had losses, but this is what I think is happening (always dangerous, lol): there is a big buyer/s, perhaps the company itself, sopping up a flood of stock. Over the last month, short interest is up by 3 million shares - the float is only around 10m shares. An amazing 40% of the float is now short, up 300% in the last month, and yet the stock has barely moved.

http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/2_3062-nyseshort-highlites.html