Share your wisdom!

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IzzyfoShizzy, Feb 21, 2008.

1. I'm a young college student and I've always been interested in the stock market and making the big bucks. I finally jumped in this September with a gigantic chunk of my money (probably nothing compared to what you guys deal with) but I figured I'd learn the game while not risking much.

unfortunately, i dropped down significantly almost immediately after i entered but after making changes, i made back all my losses and then a large amount of profit. but it was too good to be true and now I am back in the losses and have been there for quite some time. doesnt seem like i will be getting out soon.

I guess im just asking for any words of wisdom or help on how to get better at this. i must be doing something wrong. i realize that by putting myself out here on ET, i might get kicked around but i figure some of you may actually have advice worth listening to. I consider myself a sponge and ready to absorb information.

I keep making some great moves but also end up making some terrible moves that counter them. so there must be some hope for me. for example, i bought TEX at 55 a while ago and sold it all at 68 today. but then, i also bought AAPL at 170 and its now around 122 (STUPID move). One thing I've realized is that its very dangerous when you attempt to play earnings.

I used to watch Cramer's Mad Money when I first started, but quickly realized that he isnt the best person to be listening to so I stopped tuning in. I use Scottrade, I dont know what most people on here use. anyways, the floor is yours.

2. piezoe

piezoe

Good for you. Trading is an interesting challenge. Hang out at ET and you can learn much from the many expert traders (and some not so) who post here. I have been trading in one form or another many years but i am continually learning, and have learned much from my ET colleagues.