Sexy Idea...

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by sunseeker, Sep 26, 2003.

1. After Trading for several years now using TA and watching T&S all the time I have the feel for the price-action. I'm not a programmer so that's why I haven't tried the following idea. How about adding all the volume that is traded at Offer and adding all the volume that is traded at Bid for a certain amount of time (i.e. since the bottom of a trend - the starting point should be defined as soon the market is in a trend)

This could give an additional information about the balance of power.. wouldn't it?

Is someone already doing that or has experience with something similar?

2. They

They

Is this what you mean?

3. not exactly... it would be adding the entire volume during a certain period. The key would be to find certain patterns that show you that a certain amount of contracts have been bought during the recent trend. Then I believe when I would follow that I could get some sort of key volume that was traded at offer during an upward trend that could indicate that the dynamics are changing.

4. Then you just want a rolling N period sum of volume. That shouldn't be hard to implement in almost any backtesting platform.

--laz

5. hmmm.. it would seem that you would get random readings because the bid/ask ratio of trades would be different depending on why the market was making a bottom (if it is even making a bottom).. in other words, you would get a different result from an aggressive seller leaving the market as opposed to an aggressive buyer stepping in and bidding it up..

interesting idea though..

-qwik