Setting Stochastis Question

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by arthus, Dec 13, 2003.

1. arthus

arthus

Crossover Stochastics to signal either buy/ sell. Would be on trend reversal strategy

I'm trying to use it on the QQQ. Set it on a 10 min chart
    and seems to be working nice on a (3,2) period.
    My question is... how valuable would be an indicator with such small period when I see people setting it to (10,10) or sometimes longer? Is it really useful such a short period in the stochastic?

I'm still a beginner, haven't traded and wont for some time. I'm just following the market so far...

Thanks for the imputs

2. I am using MACD on a 1 m chart. But I am not sure which setting is the best. Any input from other MACD--users?

3. My setting now is 26,12,9.

4. nkhoi

nkhoi

same here, that should work for all time frame.

5. Didn't the thread starter ask about the stochastic? We managed to get off topic in less than one post! :)

6. With just any indicator as per my experiance, if you are using
    lower time frame you indicator setting should be highered, and
    if you are working with longer time frame your indicator setting
    should be lowered.

Example:
    for 1 min chart, , 50, 100, 200 moving average works best.
    for 3, 5 min chart, 20 and 50 MA works better.
    for 10, 15 min, 5 and 10 MA works better.

If your time frame is above 1 minute, i belive your stochastic
    sould be 10-14. higher time frame and seting should be lowered
    accordingly.

7. Here are some STOCH and MACD settings that work VERY GOOD for finding divergence plays during the trade day...I have a few examples of how these indicators can be used to go for +2.0 point hits during the day (+2.0 pts for the first 1/2 of your position and then let your second half ride with a trailing stop).

The Stoch setting is : (5,5,2)

The MACD setting is : (4,13,1) .....some use (8,11,1)