Serious Advice....

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rjtran, Dec 19, 2008.

1. rjtran

rjtran

I'm just starting out in the trading game and and I will put up no false pretense of being overwhelmed and unsure what the best route/course/software to use is.

I have done investools and I was ok with it - but I didn't love it. I think it's expensive and the software seems good but I don't honestly know if what they're charging is high compared to other software. Anyone have any opinion on this? I know that other programs have the "red" and "green" arrows and of course I understand that is not the total end-all-be-all of trading success :)

Also I would eventually like to do this for a living but I know it takes time and practice. Any books to recommend to start truly learning the game a little more? There are SOOO many out there.

What is a good amount to start with? Has anyone been successful starting with only $5K?

I know my questions seem naive on a point but I want honest and serious advice. I don't want to squander money needlessly for books that say the same thing over and over and programs/software that are pointless.

Thanks in advance for all the help! I look forward to more posts and learning from fellow traders.

2. Hi Rj

I have been trading for 15 years. I use www.eminischool.com system. Not sure what you trade but you can PM me anytime with questions and i will try and help you.

If you start with 5k i would trade the NQ not the ES if you are going to trade futures. Or use options to swing trade stocks to get use to reading the charts with small contract size.

The indicators dont have arrows but turn the bars green and red. You dont take every color change but the blue bars tell you when the move is most likely over OR starting. Here is a snap shot of today ES 3 min chart.

TG989

3. both of you do not need to pay anymore

the higher line is simple MA 14 exactly, color change can be done in OEC platform