series seven

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by bouncingsoul, Jul 26, 2005.

1. I'm currently studying for my 7 and I'm using the STC materials. I got a handle on the practice exams and I'm turning out about an 85% - 88% on each exam. This is after taking each exam 3-4 times. Is this a false sense of security or do you think I'm on the right track? I'm trying not to memorize answers...I'm attempting to understand each question. Some questions are definitions and I just zip through them because I remember seeing them.

Is this bad?

2. bouncingsoul,

I'm not trying to hijack your thread, but this is a good place
    to ask this question also

Does series seven qualifies you to teaching, offering
    offical educational service, or amanging funds in US
    and other part of the world?

If not, what you need to have to legaly qualify you for
    doing these things?

3. When i did my series 7 the questions on the examination were copies of the study material from STC (that i used also).
    My result was 85% and my colleague got over 95%.
    I have had more complicated exams than the series 7.

4. Spike500,

If I don't need leverage, any other reason for series 7?
    Any other course that might be usefull to me. Thanks

5. I did Series 7 because i managed other people's money. It was part of my protection against possible problems with clients in the future. I did it to have a proof of qualification in case of action at court.
    I luckily never needed this proof as nobody ever had complaints about me.
    I also had a track record of several years at a big american broker to prove i knew what i was doing.

6. pjbreen

pjbreen

bouncingsoul-
    you'll be fine. I used dearborn and many of the questions were word for word from the practice tests.

Lots of options and munibonds on the test, but pretty basic coverage. no worries.

7. The practice exams for the Series 7 are imho 5X harder than the actual exam.

8. opgtrader

opgtrader