Series III Exam

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by illfuture, Mar 12, 2010.

1. Hey everyone,

I'm a student at the University of Illinois about to take the series 3 exam in May. As of now, I have been studying materials from 2005 that I checked out of the library. Apparently there from securitiesexam.com and offer a few practice exams and whatnot. My question is, should I be concerned that these materials are so dated? I talked to a few people and they said there have been a lot of mergers among brokers and among exchanges – so some of those margin rules have changed.
    In addition, the implosion of the hyper-leverage and resulting increases in regulations probably impacted about 15% of the rules in 2005.

I'm not sure what I should do, get new materials or continue to study with what I have? Any advice is appreciated.

-Corey

2. Also, any tips or tricks in preparing that you recommend?

3. JPope

JPope

I would say the material you have is enough to get you through it, but read through it thoroughly and know the conversions. Not a difficult test, especially if you have some industry experience.

4. Why are you taking the Series 3 exam? To get a job? To become a CTA? Personal pleasure?

5. Another college education snuffed out by trading? :confused: :( :confused:

6. There are a couple of kinds of questions that require knowledge. In these questions you are required to deal with shades of meanings. further, sometimes you will be asked what is incorrect about a statement.

the general way people prep is to work 2 or 3 days with a tutor who earns his living tutoring. you will find he is up to date and he will put you through tests and then review your strengths and weeaknesses. Ususally the deal is that you will check in with him after the test.

Once you know your strengths and weakenesses, you study some more and do tests to get your tesing speed up.