Series 7 vs. CFA level I

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by theguest666, Jun 17, 2009.

1. I'm currently studying for the CFA level I but also would like to prepare for the Series 7 if hired by a trading firm. I hear that there's a bit of overlap in material in both exams.. can anyone confirm?

2. CFA exponentially harder. I'm sure there is some overlap, i've passed both and I don't really remember.

series 7, just learn options, muni's and the SEC act of 33 and 34 I think were big topics

CFA more CAPM stuff.

i am 100% sure neither will help you trade.

series 7, then u sell like a used car salesman

cfa, write research reports

3. pupu

pupu

Agreed

CFA1 is much harder. Much more material.

You should have your employer pay for these as paying to get them to improve your market value is of little value.

4. OttoMann

OttoMann

There is little overlap other than they deal with financial topics. You should be able to pass the Series 7 with a couple weeks of studying. Know some definitions, some options, some regulations and you'd do fine.

The CFA exam is entirely different. It tests your knowledge of ethics/ quant/ accounting/ econ/ equity/ fixedinc/ derivatives and portfolio management. Much more in depth.

I passed both. Studied about 10 hours for Series 7 about 150 hours for CFA level 1.

5. I have a CFA and Series 7 - though my 7 expires next week.

CFA (any level) infinitely mroe difficult that the 7. Sure there is a little overlap but I think 7 (took it in 2002) is much more regulatory than CFA.

6. :p

Don't compare the two.

I'm currently doing my level I CFA.... That test is 100000 times harder than the Series 7. Series 7 is a joke and only necessary if you work at a broker-dealer where you interact with clients. The hedge fund world and prop traders no longer need a Series 7. Plus you need to be sponsored by a firm.