Series 7 Exam for a future college student?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Ian999, Jun 6, 2010.

1. Ian999

Ian999

Hi,

I am going to be entering my first year of college and I am wondering if, over the summer, it is a good idea to prepare for the series 7/63 and get a license. How difficult is the test and how long should it take to prepare? Any other information that you think will be helpful please let me know. I am majoring in finance and want to go into trading whether it is a at a prop firm or hedge fund. Thanks.

- Ian

2. On average it takes about 100-120 hours of study for the series 7. I studied 120 hours and took 15 different practice tests over and over until i was getting 90% or better on all of them. When I finally took the actual test, I scored 78%, but the average is 72% (so alot of people just squeek by). The first time fail rate on the series 7 is around 40% last time I checked, but if you study for 100+ hours total, you should be ok. Anyone who studies less is likely to be the 40%ers.

3. schizo

schizo

Okay, I really have this nagging question after watching the "Wall Street Warriors, Season 2" in its entirety over this weekend. One of the casts, Laetitia, who graduated with a degree in finance from NYU applies for a job (it's more like an apprenticeship with no pay for 6 months) at a local prop firm in NYC.

Now, as I was watching this, I'm thinking why the hell would she be looking for a job in a prop firm after graduating from such a prestigious school, especially one that pays nothing for 6 months with absolutely no guarantee that she will succeed as a trader afterwards? I mean, geezus, did you went through four expensive years of college just to become a trader? That made no sense. Since when were you required to have a college diploma to become a trader?!!

If I were her, I would be looking for a job in investment banking for crying out loud.

4. 1) Another college education wasted before it ever started. :(