Series 7 and Career

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Kyril411, Aug 5, 2006.

1. Kyril411

Kyril411

Hi,

I earned a bachelors in English and have a lifelong passion for writing (fiction, nonfiction, journalism, etc...). I am now studying for my series 7 (and possibly a 66 afterwards), but I was wondering if I could incorporate two skills into one profession, by becoming a freelance financial writer. I was hoping that I can write to financial magazines, business newspapers, corporate newsletters, and trading websites such as Forbes, CNN/Money, and Fortune. I can interview the best financial minds, profile a company, and cover the market. Is it a good idea? Is it lucrative? By freelance, I am fully aware of the benefits and disadvantages of being on your own. And I know I really don't need a series 7, but I was hoping that a license would give me some credibility. Please, offer me some advise how to pursue just that. Thanks!!

2. To gain credibility or become marketable you need somthing like CFA that requires 3-4 years reading, and not Series 7

3. rjv27

rjv27

It's a good idea if you are passionate about it, which it sounds like you are. And if it is not lucrative, you are going to have to find a way to make it (i.e. Jack Schwager).

4. I agree a seven will add no real credibility. A CFA is not an open option unless you are already employed in the investment business, it is one of their requirements. There isn't a lot of real free lance writing in the financial world. Most of what you see are actually paid for publicity drops, your best bet would be to submit a sample of your past work to the PR Industry and see if they can throw some work your way.

5. gnome

gnome