Series 3 expiring 1.5 months, How to re-register again w/NFA

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by PhiSigmaIota, Jun 14, 2005.

1. I do not want to lose this license and my current firm is not a NFA member. I would like to pay the cost/ associated fees with the NFA registration. Can someone assist me registering as an a Associated Person(AP) again or should I go and register as a CTA or IB.
    If that is the is the case what is quickest procedure(documentationwise) to register as CTA?
    When you are a CTA, I know NFA audits you every year, but as there will be no CTA business, will there be a problem or can I hold this license as long as I pay my dues?
    I do not know the IB end so may be that is another way to go...
    Probably the ideal way is to register as AP in case I get a sponsor, if not can you please advise...
    Thanks for your assistance in advance
    Note: I am planning to establish a hedge fund in the next 6 mos.
    I have been a trader for 9 years..traded almost every instrument..

2. ktm

ktm

Call the NFA. They are very helpful.

3. Do you really think NFA will help me when I tell them that I do not want my license to expire and ask them what I should do?
    Frankly I doubt it..

4. JayS

JayS

They might, wouldn't hurt to call. I've found them always to be very helpful and almost never a wait to talk to anyone.

5. ktm

ktm

I have dealt with the NFA for years and they have always been outstanding in terms of responsiveness. Their interaction with me and most others I have spoken to has always been friendly and never in a way that is typical of a regulatory authority.

It sounds like you are down to two choices; getting the answer from the one place that has all the answers or getting ideas from an internet message board. I hope your thinking clears up before starting your hedge fund.

Good Luck.