Series 3 Broker

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Kingfin2, Dec 11, 2007.

1. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

I would like to hear from any Series 3 Brokers out there about the state of business. I have been thinking of becoming a futures broker for some time. I know it is hard work and good salesmanship is needed (something I can do), but is it still a viable (lucrative) career ? Thanks for any serious answers.

2. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

Are there any futures brokers on this site or am I in the wrong forum ? (not being sarcastic)

3. There is a futures section down lower.

Many active traders here, not so sure about brokers. Many some traders retired from the pits as well (at least that's the claim).

Good Luck!

4. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

Thanks.

5. I used to be a Futures Broker. The game is not the same anymore. Your really competiting against deep discount trading vs full service commission. nobody really trades that way anymore. youd have to be an awsome trader to make it in this business imho. Even then youd need to have full discretion over the accounts in order to trade them effectively. Then your faced with the inevitable question: "if your such a good trader why arn't you trading your own money vs being a broker?

just a thought.

6. My friend owns a good brokerage that does discount futures and forex. It sounds like they do well he drives a Bentley. They have brokers around the country too. Shoot him an email and tell him you met me in Elite Trader. My name is Roger Jackson. His email is greg.sweet@lotusbrokerage.com

Take care man and good luck!

7. Kingfin2

Kingfin2

Thanks guys this is what I was looking for, from both sides of the coin. Pulse, I kind of felt that way as well but as t roger says there are people still doing it, and doing okay.

8. eminiben

eminiben