Serial ATA add-on card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hcour, Jun 9, 2005.

1. hcour

hcour Guest

2. Yep.

Martin

3. hcour

hcour Guest

Excellent. Thanks. Ordered it today.

I've never used one of these add-on cards before. I want the SATA drive to be my primary master. How will my bios read that? Will I still be able to use my IDE drive as a slave? Should I set the jumper on the IDE hd as a slave (and use the slave connector on the cable), or leave it as the master and assume the bios will sort it out?

Thanks,
    H

4. SATA uses point to point wiring rather than a bus. That means for every port on the adapter card, you connect one hard drive. There is no master and slave, or primary/secondary bus.

Lower numbered SATA ports will show up first in your BIOS and in the Windows drive letters unless you intentionally change it. I'm not sure whether EIDE drives will show up before or after SATA drives in Windows by default. It probably depends on your BIOS and how you configure it.

I'm much more familiar with Linux. In Linux, the SATA driver (libata) uses the SCSI generic driver layer and shows up as /dev/sdX rather than /dev/hdX for IDE drives.

Maritn

5. I realized I didn't actually answer your question. :(

That's what I'd do.

Martin

6. hcour

hcour Guest

Thanks Martin.