Sell off Stock, forget the market?

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by GUG01, Aug 4, 2008.

1. GUG01

GUG01

I'm basically a total newbie when it comes to investment, I figured instead of having my money sitting around collecting dust I'd invest it in more or less safe picks.

So around 3-4 months ago I bought EWZ and Brk.b, since then I'm down ~12-14% and a little over 4k.

This isn't a ton of money to me, but still annoying to see these 3-4% drops in a single day.

Anyways, EWZ tanked another 5% today and I’m a little fed up with all this and really want to just sell off everything and get back into the market when I'm a little more knowledgeable.

Does anyone think this is sensible, or am I just being a classic moron that buys high then sells low?

Anyways, thanks for any input

2. Buy first, ask questions later.

3. DUMP DUMP DUMP

4. dsq

dsq

brk should do ok and you probably bot it at an already low price?

bear market now...we're probably half way through it...market may bottom in 6-9 months..
    I guess your mistake was buying in a bear and not waiting for a new uptrend to develop before buying.Essentially you were bottom guessing or trying to catch a falling knife.We all make mistakes.
    Determine a max loss you can handle and bail out if it hits that point.
    you can get back in anytime after that.MArkets are psychological.
    Read some of the old classic books.

Jesse livermore by edwin lefevre and tech analysis by edwards/mcgee.Find them at your public library or ebay,amazon.

Like livermore said "speculating is as old as the hills" .......and the way people trade today is the same as it was 100yrs ago as500yrs ago etc...