Self Taught or Mentored?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by tito, Mar 9, 2004.

1. tito

tito

To all those on ET who trade for a living, are you a self-taught trader or were you mentored one-on-one by a fellow trader?
    I guess what I really want to know is if someone can still be a successful trader if he learns the hard way by himself. I know the learning will be a lot longer and more expensive, but is this possible at all?
    Thanks. :)

2. Just hop into ET CHAT and trade the calls made by some of the most top notch traders this side of the Pacific. :p

3. Mecro

Mecro

I follow mrmarket's methodology.

On my second mortgage already :p

4. prox

prox

Bit of both, but I've exceeded all my mentors ..

It's hard to find someone who legitimately wants to teach you unless they're a personal friend.

5. Diode

Diode

Self-taught.

And yes, it took a long time and was expensive.

6. nkhoi

nkhoi

time to get your tuition back the easy way.

7. Mecro

Mecro

Ok but now more seriously.

I had to reteach myself since I was taught/forced the size scalp and bullet short scalp strategy from the prop firm I started with. Since I already had the experience of trading the stocks, I just started aiming for more trendy moves, pullbacks, reversals and tape reading. It had quite an effect on my P&L as I was down net everyday for about 2 weeks to a month.

Surprise, surprise, as I start hitting the profitable streak, bullets are gone. Our original "mentor" all of the sudden could not make a dime.

8. I'm self taught.

It took 3 years to finally catch on. (daytrading for income)
    I've almost made back all of my tuition.

I also taught myself a couple other major things (guitar/business) but it probably depends on your personality whether or not a mentor or self teaching is for you.

I can tell you that with self teaching, you have to be totally passionate about what you're doing. If it seems like it is too tough, self teaching may not be for you.