Self-sabotage. Why do we suffer and how to eliminate it.

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Optionpro007, Oct 18, 2006.

1. Self-sabotage had never really been something I had thought about until I started trading full time.

I realize that most people suffer from this ill, if it could be called like this, some to a lesser degree than others but always playing part of our most inner self.

Self-sabotage can be seen throughout history in people like Hitler, Hussein, Kim Jong Il, but also in people who are "good" in nature like, Lennon, Gandhi, Versace, even Jesus Christ falls under this description.(with all due respect to all religious souls roaming these pages)

The question I have is "why?". Where does this subconscious self-sabotage mechanism come from? It is innate in nature.

A few things that are clear is that this malady afflicts good and bad people all over the world. That it can be very subtle, difficult to perceive. That almost all people who have a problem never realize it, and live with it all their lives not understanding why they didn't achieve what they had set out to do.

I would appreciate having a "meeting" of the minds regarding this topic. I know meditation and religion, keeps us away from hurting ourselves, but why do we suffer from self sabotage in the first place ?

I think that as traders, it is by far the biggest psychological hurdle to overcome in order to achieve consistant success in this business

Ideas, comments? Welcome.

2. ssmegner

ssmegner

Define "self sabotage" for the purposes of this discussion. And is this any different from the fear/greed scenarios.

3. dac8555

dac8555

i am not sure "self sabatoge" is the correct phrase to describe why most people dont achieve their goals or the problems that people like Hitler had.

I think everyone is imperfect, but that si different from self sabatoge.

I think a very small number of people have the mental problems which cause them to want to fail ...if they admit it or not.