Self-employed contractor AND a trader?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by fatrat, Oct 8, 2005.

1. fatrat

fatrat

I quit my full-time job earlier this year. I trade during the mornings with the intention of being a trader. But, in the evenings, I work as an independent contractor. I have losses in one business (since I'm a newbie) while having profits in another.

So here's my issue:

I have some W2s. I have some 1099s. I have some trading income. I have some trading losses.

Who exactly should I be looking for or what should I be looking at to figure out how to solve my tax issues? Should I be paying quarterly taxes + social security?

I'm scared I'll have to pay some extraordinary fees for an accountant.

2. 1st question where are you from the states, europe,canada, asia

3. fatrat

fatrat

Los Angeles, California, USA. Sorry for not being clear. I suppose I should worry about CA state income tax also.

4. when I did this I had a corporation and all my monies from gigs went into the C Corp and I had a trading account on the name of the corporation. The tax work and keeping books made my life a living Hell and my wife is an accountant. So of you keep good records better have a good bookkeeper or just do it yourself.
    You are better off keeping it as a sole prop in my opinion.

5. You might be okay with two sole proprietorships. Or not... depending on all the facts and circumstances and depending on what side of the bed the IS auditor got up from.

Having more than one sole propereitorship can be challenged - meaning the IRS wants all your expenses as itemized deductions, rather than above the line items. Court case Groetzinger v. Comr. 1985 can be used to support such a position by the IRS.

But if you are treating your trading as a true active business, you could win trader status in spite of an initial challenge by IRS.

Forming a separately filing entity is a method some traders use to deflect such an IRS challenge.