Seeking serious advice from market makers and dealers

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by fullperson, Dec 19, 2010.

1. Hi everyone, I've snooped around this forum for a bit and I'm getting a bad vibe. There is a lot of contention amongst people who claim to be experts, yet they allow their ego to show through. I am sorry if my opinion offends anyone, but I'm sure there are many people on this forum that share the same serious determination to succeed.

I would like to think that I am a serious trader, and above all else I have tried to cultivate a mindset free from ego, fear and hope. So please do not post a reply if you are going to mislead.

Now onto the question. I am looking for a career in dealing or market making (or any other job that deals closely w/ order flow), and I find it hard to obtain reading material or advice from actively trading/truly experienced people in the industry. While I would prefer working for the interbank in currencies (my primary experience) or options, I am open to other vehicals as well.

Assuming this is the correct thread (This is technically the first post I've made on this particular forum), I would appreciate any genuine replies pertaining to the route from university through market making/dealing for an institution or exchange.

If anyone would be willing to offer their honest experiences, thoughts, advice or mentoring I will be very grateful.

Regards,
    Will

2. bone

bone

I would think the most logical course of action would be to pursue an interview with a fund or private equity group (Susquehanna, DRW, etc.) or a dealer/broker (Garban, Prebon Yamane, etc.) whose business model and revenue streams are based primarily upon market making.

Look at the firms involved in OTC markets - that is where you are a bit less likely to be replaced by automation. If you could get your hands on an ISDA swap dealers listing that would be a bonanza for you.