Seeking advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tallkid0666, Jul 21, 2005.

1. I am 22 years old, and will be graduating this fall from Vanderbilt University. I majored in political science but have now decided that trading is what i want to do with my life -- and i want to go after it as soon as i finish school in december. To all those already in the profession, I was hoping a few of you would be willing to pass on advice:

- since i currently lack experience/much knowledge in the industry, what would you recommend i do between now and my first job interview that would best prepare me for successful trading? what could i get on my resume that would interest companies to hire me?

- what separates a good trader from a poor one, a successful trader from those who fail?

tallkid

2. Try to get a job at a bank first. dont jump into this yet, you will get no salary forever.
    Many are barely making it now. get the highest salary you can at a reputable firm. Relax, buy a car, get a girlfriend and you will thank me.

3. gnome

gnome

Knowing that would change the life of oh, say, 95% of traders.

4. "what would you recommend i do between now and my first job interview that would best prepare me for successful trading? what could i get on my resume that would interest companies to hire me?"

hm... what would prepare you... what would prepare you....

change your ID to "Coinz."

5. Go back to school for Finance, get a job at a financial institution (goldman Sachs is good) as an analyst. I think most of trading is psychology but another aspect is being good with numbers/math, maybe you are good with this stuff, but your degree doesn't tell me that at all. If I was a financial institution I would NOT hire a PoliSci major.

Just my thoughts.