Seeking advice on AUD/USD/CAD strategy

Discussion in 'Forex' started by falcon, Sep 28, 2009.

1. falcon

falcon

Hi,

Would appreciate opinions from the pros on why this strategy would not be such a good idea, as I am very new to this.

I would like to transfer AUDs into USDs to trade the US markets then at a later date (3mths or so in the future) I would transfer those USDs from my trading account into a CADs bank account.

How I see it:

The AUD is histroically quite strong against the USD and the USD historically is quite weak against the CAD, so theres a good chance the USD could strengthen over the next few months against the CAD. I would therefore be in a good position to benefit from this.

How does this look?

2. falcon

falcon

I was hoping not to get responses from first time posters bearing issues and baggage, but suppose these types of posts attract those type of people.

So I'll try again. I'm not looking to be a trader of forex anything of the sorts & I don't require any BS comments from newbies so if you actually have some constructive cristism in relation to what I proposed I would greatly appreciate hearing from you.

:)

3. you could buy otm put on the usd in case it continues to crater against the AUD and CAD....

while the money is being held in USD only...

But AUD and CAD being so highly correlated, you might want to consider that they are overbought and that the USD may rally.... So why not sell a USD put and buy a USD call... while you anticipate your trade..

AUD => USD --> CAD

OR

you could sell an OTM put on the USD and buy a USD call option if you have enough money to justify such a position in your hedge...

4. falcon

falcon

ahh the net bring out all sorts.

nemakrua,

Im sorry if my post has caused you to react in such a way as that was not my intention. I am simply asking for opinions and advice from those more knowledgable and experienced than myself in relation to something I have been thinking about.