SEC $25k minimum

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jmoore2020, Oct 30, 2008.

1. Am i able to open an stock brokerage account and trade daily without using some type of margin account. For Example
    if i have $5000 can i buy and sell using only that $5000 within the same day?

Does the SEC $25k minimum only apply to margin accounts? i do not want to trade on margin.

2. ssbc19

ssbc19

The rule only applies to margin accounts. However, if you aren't using a margin account you have a 3-day settlement period after you buy stock. Options settlement is 1 day, so it works better in a cash account

3. azzzy

azzzy

What does that mean? Does it mean I can't sell it for 3 days?

Sorry, I'm new to this - just trying to learn things.

4. gaj

gaj

means money from a transaction isn't in your account until settlement - 3 days later.

look up "PDT rule" for more information. on the 25k minimum.

5. azzzy

azzzy

Thanks for the answer. But can you please tell me if I have a non-margin account, am I able to buy a stock today and sell it tomorrow? Also can I sell a stock and buy another one the next day? Or do I have to wait 3 days before I can do either one of those things?

6. telozo

telozo

In a cash account you can buy and sell a stock anytime you want, but the money will not be available for another trade until your first trade settles, usually 3 days. By the way, you cannot short in a cash account.

7. azzzy

azzzy

Sorry if I sound like a retard but what you just said appears to be a contradiction. You say I can buy and sell whenever but on the other hand the money is not available for another trade for 3 days. If money is not available for another trade, how can I buy a stock whenever? Can somebody answer my questions from my previous post:

if I have a non-margin account, am I able to buy a stock today and sell it tomorrow? Also can I sell a stock and buy another one the next day? Or do I have to wait 3 days before I can do either one of those things?