Scottrader Elite

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by armsoforion, Jan 1, 2004.

1. Anyone using Scottrader Elite, any opions? I have been trading for about 6 months, and I like the interface and all, but was wondering if I was at a disadvantage using this broker.
    Thanks,
    Orion

2. How do you trade? Do you day-trade? Do you scale in or out? Would a per share commission better suit you? Do you need the convienence of their physical offices?

Sorry for answering your question with all these questions.....This is a traders website....and generally the likes of E-Trade, AmeriTrade, Scottrade, Ab Watley, Fidelity, Charles S., and American Express are for the retail investor type of person who does not trade for a living.

After reading a little about Scottrade Elite, you need to maintain a minumum of 25k and its for the active trader. You get charts for free, if you keep your volume up to their quota of 10 trades per month. (10 trades a month is an active trader?)

Michael B.

3. I am doing some daytrading, but mostly swing type trades usually buying no more than 2500 shares at a time. I use limit orders almost exclusivly and pay 12.00 per trade.

4. Well, do the math....If you need the charts which you can get on MedVed quoteTracker.....why use elite?

If you trade enough you might want to check other lower cost brokerages.....A lot of traders use IB(interactive brokers, find their link on this website) and I understand that Scotttrade has worse reliability issues than IB has.

Michael B.

5. I guess I'm basically looking for lower commission costs and best execution. I will check out IB. From an execution stand point am I on the same playing field when I place my limit order with Scottrade as other direct access brokers?

Thanks for the input thus far.

6. I will let the stock traders that use IB answer this, I am not qualified.

Michael B.

7. Orion:

I use IB for day trading and Scottrade for intermediate trading.